Tales of an Urban Indian

April 2 - May 10, 2020

Talk Is Free Theatre and Schwartz Geller Productions

Playwright(s): Darrell Dennis

Directed by:
Herbie Barnes

Featuring:
Brendan Chandler

Tales of an Urban Indian is staged on a moving city bus, which drives around the city and visits locations matching those of the play's plot. It is the story of Simon Douglas, a contemporary Indigenous man, who grows up on both the reserve and in Vancouver. Tales of an Urban Indian conjures up many characters that appear in Simon's life as seen through his eyes.

"Tales of An Urban Indian is more than a one-off novelty satirical comedy show on a ‘theatre bus’, [...] the audience, bemused and uncertain, strap themselves in for a mesmerizing one act performance.”

- Flora Georgiou, Stage Whisper, Melbourne

"Tales of an Urban Indian is a perfect, offbeat recommendation... It’s amusing, but also unflinching in its portrayal of the life of a First Nations kid in B.C.”

- Darren Barefoot, Georgia Straight, Vancouver

Upcoming Performances:

Thu April 2, 2020 7:30 pm

Fri April 3, 2020 8:00 pm

Sun April 5, 2020 2:00 pm

Thu April 9, 2020 7:30 pm

Sat April 11, 2020 8:00 pm

Sun April 12, 2020 2:00 pm

Tue April 14, 2020 7:30 pm

Wed April 15, 2020 7:30 pm

Thu April 16, 2020 7:30 pm

Fri April 17, 2020 8:00 pm

Sat April 18, 2020 8:00 pm

Sun April 19, 2020 2:00 pm

Tue April 21, 2020 7:30 pm

Wed April 22, 2020 7:30 pm

Thu April 23, 2020 7:30 pm

Sat April 25, 2020 8:00 pm

Wed April 29, 2020 7:30 pm

Thu April 30, 2020 7:30 pm

Fri May 1, 2020 8:00 pm

Sat May 2, 2020 4:00 pm

Sun May 3, 2020 2:00 pm

Tue May 5, 2020 7:30 pm

Wed May 6, 2020 7:30 pm

Thu May 7, 2020 7:30 pm

Sat May 9, 2020 8:00 pm

Sun May 10, 2020 2:00 pm

Other shows by Talk Is Free Theatre and Schwartz Geller Productions

Mystery Musical
March 19 - May 31, 2020

For Both Resting and Breeding
April 16 - May 3, 2020