Brahms Sextet

August 3, 2018

Toronto Summer Music Festival

Aaron Schwebel, violin
Alexander Kerr, violin
Barry Shiffman, violin
Steven Dann, viola

Leoš Janáček’s Violin Sonata (1914-21) is a typically passionate and quirky piece by this unpredictable Moravian master. In the words of the composer, Chan Ka Nin’s Our Finest Hour pays tribute to “the achievements of mankind” and “the power of the citizens and liberty for all human beings.” The two hearty, expansive string sextets that Brahms composed during the 1860s are exceptionally warm in every way. They are cornerstones of the repertoire of this rare medium.

Upcoming Performances

No performances scheduled.